HOME       Contact Us      Hire Us       Domestic Airlines        Railway Enquiry     Railway Booking     Hotels Abroad

New Railway Zone for Andhra Pradesh
Feb 27, 2019
NEW DELHI: Railway Minister Piyush Goyal on Wednesday announced a new railway zone for Andhra Pradesh, comprising the existing Guntakal, Guntur and Vijayawada divisions.

The existing Guntakal, Guntur and Vijayawada divisions currently fall under the South Central Railway.

The new railway zone will be known as Southern Coast Railway. It will be headquartered in Visakhapatnam. It is the 18th zone in the country.

"As per item 8 of Schedule 13 (Infrastructure) of the Andhra Pradesh Reorganization Act, 2014, the Indian Railways was required to examine establishing a new railway zone in the successor state of Andhra Pradesh," the Minister said.

"The matter has been examined in detail in consultation with the stakeholders and it has been decided to go ahead with the creation of a new zone with its headquarter in Visakhapatnam," he told reporters.

The South Central Railway will consist of Hyderabad, Secunderabad and Nanded divisions, Goyal said.

Waltair division, one of the three divisions of the East Coast Railway Zone, covering the northern districts of Andhra Pradesh, parts of Chhattisgarh and Odisha, having its headquarter in Visakhapatnam, will be split into two, he said.

While one part will be incorporated in the new zone and merged with the neighbouring Vijaywada division, the remaining portion will be converted into a new division headquartered at Rayagada under the East Coast Railway (ECoR).

In the existing 17 zones there are a total of 73 divisions at present.

Custom Search

comments powered by Disqus

Home    Contact Us
 Free contributions of articles and reports may be sent to indiatraveltimes@yahoo.com